Skip to main content
Seattle Pacific University
BIO 3615 Issues and Values in Biology
Search this Guide
BIO 3615 Issues and Values in Biology: Get Started
Citation Style - Chicago
Reading Scientific Articles
How to (seriously) read a scientific paper
(post on Science.com) See some suggestions for, and differences in, how scientists read scientific papers.
BEAM and Scientific Articles
Writing an argumentative essay
What is an argumentative essay? -
Purdue OWL definition
Choosing a topic - getting a topic that is not too broad or too narrow, and allows you to take a position based on research.
Resources that will help you select and refine your topic (and get a good foundation for your topic):
Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics
(3 vol. Encyclopedia, 2016)
(6 vol. Encyclopedia, 2014)
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
(4 vol. Encyclopedia, 2012)
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
(5 vol. Encyclopedia, 2004)
Hastings Center Website
Bibliographies on Bioethics Topics
- Georgetown University Bioethics Research Library
Ideas for broadening and narrowing research topics:
choosing and narrowing a topic to write about (tutorial)
selecting a research topic: refining your topic
Biology Databases at SPU
American Chemical Society Web Editions and Journal Archives
offers full-text access to 30 ACS journals and their backfiles, with coverage extending from 1876 to the present.
covers life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. Its coverage extends from 1992 to the present.
MEDLINE covers all areas of healthcare, including medicine, dentistry, nursing, psychiatry, and nutrition.
offers digitized versions of core scholarly journals in many disciplines.
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.
provides full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
New York Times Index
offers full-text coverage of the U.S. newspaper of record. Important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts are included.
features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography
Cornell University's guide on creating an annotated bibliography
Purdue OWL - Annotations
Center for Bioethics and Human Dignity - Healthcare and Clinical Ethics Bibliography
Find Full-Text >>
Feb 7, 2019 1:21 PM
Login to LibApps