Skip to main content

WRI 1100: Pratt: Get Started

Session Outline

  • Introduction and Overview of Library Services (10 min)
  • Finding and Using Books - in the SPU Library and Beyond (15 min)
  • Finding and Using Articles (20 min)
  • Searching Time (15 min)
  • Wrap-up/Questions/Evaluation (10 min)

Assignment Two: Malaria

Evaluating a Source

Microbiology Reference Books

Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases (2012 online title)

CDC Health Information for International Travel - Yellow Book (online title)

Infectious Diseases - Cohen, Opal, Powderly (REF RC 111 .I51282 2010)

Infectious Diseases: a Geographic Guide (online title)

Infectious Diseases: In Context (2008 online title)

Harrison’s Online (online title)

Hunter’s Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases (REF RC 961 .H84 2013)

Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett’s Principles & Practices of Infectious Diseases (REF RC 111 .P78 2010);

Manson’s Tropical Diseases (REF RC 961 .M28 2009)

Finding Books

Search with keywords or subject headings for your topic in the SPU Catalog for books

 

If a book looks on-topic, open the 'Details' tab and click on other subject headings to find additional similar materials:

library catalog search showing details tab and subject headings

Or click on the 'Virtual Browse' tab to see what books would be near it on the shelf:

Finding Articles


Search with keywords from your topic in the SPU Databases for articles.

Try "Academic Search Premier"

Depending on your topic, you might want to add another database to your search.

    • Click on "Choose Databases" above the search boxes.
    • Check the box for the databases you want to add.
    • Hit "okay" and go back to your search screen
    • Ask a Librarian for help with choosing the right databases

 

Where is the actual article?

  • Full-text HTML or PDF in the database
  • Click on “Check for full-text”
  • In print or on microfilm at the SPU Library (“SPU holds this title”)
  • Area libraries such as the University of Washington or Seattle University
  • Interlibrary Loan

Please contact me or another librarian if you are having difficulty obtaining the full text of an article.