Subject Guides: WRI 1100: Coles: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Subject Librarian

Steve Perisho

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 128

206-281-2417

Subjects: History, Philosophy, Theology, UFDN

Introduction

What follows is a highly selective list of dictionaries and encyclopedias. I have not conducted a search for the major dictionaries and encyclopedias on the Web. To find more in print, place dictionaries OR encyclopedias in [the] subject field of the Advanced area of the Library's discovery system, as follows:

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Civil Rights & the Civil Rights Movement. For example,

Levy, Peter B., ed. The Civil Rights Movement in America: From Black Nationalism to the Women's Political Council. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, an Imprint of ABC-CLIO, 2015. Summit.
Richardson, Christopher M., and Ralph E. Luker. Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. Summit.
Brown, Nikki L. M., and Barry M. Stentiford, eds. Jim Crow Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008. Summit.
Appiah, Anthony, and Henry Louis Gates, eds. Africana: Civil Rights: An A-to-Z Reference of the Movement That Changed America. Philadelphia: Running Press, 2004. Summit.
Selected from Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (5 vols.), which the SPU Library houses at REF DT14 .A37435 2005.
Lowery, Charles D., and John F. Marszalek. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present. 2 vols. New York: Greenwood Press, 2003.
REF 185.61 .E54 2003. SPU also has the 1st edition at E185.61 .E54 1992.
Waldo E. Martin, Waldo E., Jr., and Patricia Sullivan, eds. Civil Rights in the United States. 2 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. Summit.
Bradley, David, and Shelley Fisher Fishkin, eds. The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. 3 vols. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 1998. Summit. Summit.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Encyclopedia (Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute, Stanford University)
Carson, Clayborne, ed. The Martin Luther King, Jr., Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008. Summit.
The relation between this one and the online work of reference immediately above seems likely to be very close, given that Clayborne heads up the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Other Individuals Involved in the Civil Rights Movement or Its Predecessors. For example,

Gates, Jr., Henry Louis, and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, eds. The African American National Biography. 2nd ed. 12 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.
There are copies of the 1st 2008 edition in 8 vols. (augmented later by a Supplement) in Summit. Also, there are many prominent African Americans in American National Biography, 24+ vols., REF CT213 .A68 1999. + Supplement, 2008-2012.
Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. Black Women in America. 2nd ed. 3 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. Summit.
SPU houses the 1st (1993) edition at REF E185.86 1993.
Gates, Jr., Henry Louis, and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, eds. African American Lives. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. Summit.
Horne, Gerald, and Mary Young. W.E.B. Du Bois: An Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001. Summit.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Period Before the Rise of the Civil Rights Movement Proper (Slavery, the Civil War, Reconstruction, Jim Crow, etc.). For example,

Heidler, David S., and Jeanne T. Heidler, eds. Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History. 5 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
REF E468 .E53 2000.
Richter, William L. The ABC-CLIO Companion to American Reconstruction, 1862-1877. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
REF E668 .R53 1996.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of African American History & Culture. For example,

Alexander, Leslie M., and Walter C. Rucker, eds. Encyclopedia of African American history. 2 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2010. Summit.
Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century. 5 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. Summit.
Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass. 3 vols. Oxford; Oxford University Press, 2006. Summit.
Palmer, Colin A., ed. Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. 2nd ed. 6 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
REF E185 .E54 2006.
Appiah, Kwame Anthony, and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. 5 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
REF DT14 .A37435 2005.
Jaynes, Gerlad D., ed. Encyclopedia of African American Society. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE publications, 2005.
REF E185 .E546 2005.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of American Ethnicity in General (in progress)

Thernstrom, Stephan, ed. Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups. Cambridge, MA: The Belknap Press of Harvard University, 1980.
REF E184 .A1H35

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of American History. For example,

Kutler, Stanley I., ed. Dictionary of American History. 3rd ed. 10 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, an imprint of Thompson Gale, 2003.
REF E174 .D52 2003.
Cayton, Mary Kupiec, and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.
REF E169.1 .E624 2001.
Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.
REF E169.1 .E626 2001.
Kutler, Stanley I., Robert Dallek, David A. Hollinger, and Thomas K. McCraw, eds. Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century. 4 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1996.
REF E740.7 .E53 1996.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Civil & Human Rights & Liberties

A couple of these may be even more scholarly than some of those listed under Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Civil Rights and the Civil Rights Movement, above (though not as historical). For example,

Forsythe, David P. Encyclopedia of Human Rights. 5 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. Summit.
Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties. 3 vols. New York: Routledge, 2006. Summit.
Stephens, Otis H., John M. Scheb, II, and Kara Elizabeth Stooksbury. Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006. Summit.
Schultz, David, and John R. Vue, eds. The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America. 3 vols. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2005.
REF JC599 .U5E53 2005.
Axelrod, Alan. Minority Rights in America. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2002.
REF JC599 .U5A93 2002.

WRI 1100: Coles: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

On This Page