Skip to main content

THEO 6710 Introduction to Practical Theology (Drovdahl): Find Articles

Where to Search (cf. How to Search, below)

To Find Articles, you must search a number of different databases, depending on the type of "social science research and theory" you are interested in or think likely to prove relevant.  For a starter-list of the disciplines in question and the principal SPU indices to the literature in any one of them, see the boxes below.  See also the subject guides at the University of Washington.

Theology and Religious Studies

For a list of indices to the scholarly literature in theology and religious studies, go here.  Focus on the ATLA Religion Database with Serials (ATLAS) above all.

Communication

Education

For a list of indices to the scholarly literature in education, see under Education Database List here.  Focus on Education Full Text and your preferred version of ERIC (which is available via four different interfaces) above all.

Health Sciences

For a list of indices to the scholarly literature in the health sciences, go here.  Focus on MEDLINE and CINAHL Plus above all.

Psychology

For a list of indices to the scholarly literature in the health sciences, go here.  Focus on PsycINFO above all.

Sociology

Start with Sociological Abstracts.  But you may also have an occasional use for Social Services Abstracts.

All of the Above and More Besides (Indices Multidisciplinary)

Academic Search Complete, Research Library Complete, Google Scholar, and others, cover many different fields of study, though not usually as well as any one of the discipline-specific indices listed above.

Note also that all EBSCOhost databases (the bulk of those listed above), and all ProQuest databases (Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts), can be searched simultaneously (though that is not necessarily the most effective way to search any given one of them).  See the screenshots below:

Searching more than one EBSCOhost database simultaneously:

 

Searching more than one ProQuest database simultaneously:

 

How to Search (cf. Where to Search, above)

At some point I'll get around to summarizing some of this.  But for now: