Subject Guides: THEO 3710 Human Development and the Christian Faith: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

Introduction

Listed below is a selection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks 1) published after 1994 and 2) owned by an Orbis Cascade Alliance library. The presence of a call number or link indicates ownership by or accessibility via SPU. Please direct your suggestions for improvement to Steve Perisho.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Human Development. For example,

Encyclopedia of religious and spiritual development. Ed. Dowling & Scarlett. 2005.
REF BV4571.3 .E53 2006.

Wiley handbook of developmental psychology in practice. Ed. Durkin & Shaffer. 2016.
Oxford handbook of developmental psychology. Ed. Zelazo. 2 vols. 2013- .
APA dictionary of lifespan developmental psychology. Ed. VandenBos. APA, 2013.
REF BF712.7 .A63 2013.
Handbook of life-span development. Ed. Lerner, Overton, Lamb, & Freund. 2 vols. Wiley, 2010.
Online.
Encyclopedia of human development. Ed. Salkind. 3 vols. 2006.
REF HM626 .E53 2006.
Encyclopedia of applied developmental science. Ed. Fisher & Lerner. 2 vols. Sage, 2005.
REF HQ767.84 .E52 2005.
Encyclopedia of education and human development. Ed. Farenga & Ness. 3 vols. 2005.
REF LB15 .E473 2005.
Handbook of developmental psychology. Ed. Valsiner & Connolly. 2003.
BF713 .H364 2003.
Cambridge encyclopedia of human growth and development. Ed. Ulijaszek, Johnston, & Preece. Cambridge University Press, 1998.
Encyclopedia of relationships across the lifespan. Ed. Turner. Greenwood Press, 1998.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Childhood. For example,

Handbook of spiritual development in childhood and adolescence. Ed. Roehlkepartain et al. 2006.
BV4571.3 .H36 2005.

Handbook of child psychology and developmental science. Ed. Lerner. 4 vols. 2015.
REF BF721 .H242 2015.
Encyclopedia of early childhood education. Ed. Williams & Fromberg. Routledge, 2012.
Encyclopedia of child behavior and development. Ed. Goldstein & Naglieri. 3 vols. Springer, 2011.
Encyclopedia of infant and early childhood development. Ed. Haith & Benson. 3 vols. Elsevier/Academic, 2008.
Early childhood education: an international encyclopedia. Ed. New & Cochran. 4 vols. Praeger, 2007.
Handbook of child psychology. 6th ed. Ed. Damon & Lerner. 4 vols. 2006.
BF721 .H242 2006.
Cambridge encyclopedia of child development. Ed. Hopkins. Cambridge, 2005.
Encyclopedia of school psychology. Ed. Lee. Sage Publications, 2005.
REF LB1027.55 .E523 2005.
Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society. Ed. Fass. 3 vols. Macmillan, 2004.
Gale encyclopedia of childhood & adolescence. Ed. Kagan & Gall. Gale, 1998.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Adolescence. For example,

Handbook of spiritual development in childhood and adolescence. Ed. Roehlkepartain et al. 2006.
BV4571.3 .H36 2005.

Encyclopedia of adolescence. Ed. Brown & Prinstein. 3 vols. Elsevier/Academic Press, 2011.
Handbook of adolescent psychology. 3rd ed. Ed. Lerner & Steinberg. 2009.
BF724 .H33 2009.
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media. Ed. Arnett. 2 vols. 2007.
International encyclopedia of adolescence. Ed. Arnett. 2 vols. Routledge, 2007.
REF HQ796 .A7258 2007.
Blackwell handbook of adolescence. Ed. Adams & Berzonsky. 2003.
BF724 .B487.
Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia. Ed. Lerner, Lerner, & Finkelstein. 2 vols. ABC-CLIO, 2001.
Gale encyclopedia of childhood & adolescence. Ed. Kagan & Gall. Gale, 1998.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Adulthood. For example,

Encyclopedia of adulthood and aging. Ed. Whitebourne. 3 vols. Wiley, 2016.
Wiley-Blackwell handbook of adulthood and aging. Ed. Whitbourne & Sliwinski. Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Handbook of research on adult learning and development. Ed. Smith & DeFrates-Densch. Routledge, 2009.
International encyclopedia of adult education. Ed. English. Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Old Age. For example,

Encyclopedia of adulthood and aging. Ed. Whitebourne. 3 vols. Wiley, 2016.
Encyclopedia of elder care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric health and social care. Ed. Capezuti et al. 3rd ed. Springer, 2014.
Wiley-Blackwell handbook of adulthood and aging. Ed. Whitbourne & Sliwinski. Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Encyclopedia of aging and public health. Ed. Loue, Sajatovic, & Koroukian. Springer, 2008.
Encyclopedia of aging. Ed. Schultz, Noelker, Rockwood, & Sprott. Springer, 2006.
Encyclopedia of aging. Ed. Ekerdt. 4 vols. 2002.
REF HQ1601 .E534 2002.
Encyclopedia of aging: a comprehensive resource in gerontology and geriatrics. Ed. Maddox. 3rd ed. Springer, 2001.
Graying of America : an encyclopedia of aging, health, mind, and behavior. Ed. Kausler & Kausler. University of Illinois Press, 2001.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Death and Dying. For example,

Encyclopedia of death and the human experience. Ed. Bryant & Peck. 2 vols. Sage Publications, 2009.
Handbook of death and dying. Ed. Bryant. 2 vols. 2003.
REF HQ1073 .H36 2003.
Macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying. Ed. Kastenbaum. 2 vols. 2003.
REF HQ1073 .M33 2003.
Encyclopedia of death and dying. Ed. Howarth & Leaman. 2001.
REF HQ1073 .E543 2001.

Works of Socio-Scientific Reference

Works of Socio-Scientific Reference

Though it hasn't been thoroughly updated or re-worked in a while, this list will get you started. It is organized by discipline (Theology, Psychology, Sociology, Education), and offers call numbers. The call numbers should get you into the vicinity of additional at least print works of reference not listed here.