Skip to main content

THEO 3250 Chronicles 1-2 (Spina): Find the Full Text

Find the full text of a commentary

To get your hands on a commentary you've identified with the help of the Find Commentaries tab, either

1. Locate it on the shelf with the help of the call number (not many biblical commentaries are available online, but should you encounter one, simply click on View It rather than Get It, as below), or

2. Request it via Summit borrowing

3. Request it via InterLibrary Loan (up to 12 days or more rather than 5)

Find the full text of some other book or monograph identified via something other than the SPU book catalog (for example a footnote or Old Testament abstracts)

To get your hands on some other book or monograph identified via something other than the SPU book catalog (for example the book-encompassed essay referenced in the following endnote on p. 168 (referring to p. 41) of Dr. Spina's The faith of the outsider), look it up in the Advanced Search area of the SPU book catalog as follows (this being an example of the necessity of a Summit request (no. 2 above)):

Find the full text of an article

1. To get your hands on an article you've identified via an SPU database (just for example the ATLA Religion Database), simply walk through the steps outlined under Finding the Full Text, as illustrated below with reference to the steps 1) PDF Full Text, 2) check for full text, 3) Check SPU catalog, [4) Check UW/SU catalog for journal (not article!) title], and 5) Request via Interlibrary Loan:

(The icon indicating the presence of full text in PDF was added to this example in order to transform it into an example capable of illustrating in a single image all of the potential options.  There is no full text of the journal Ephemerides theologicae Lovanienses in the ATLA Religion Database with Serials.)

2. To get your hands on an article you've identified in some other fashion (via the pericope-specific bibliography in a commentary or via a non-SPU database, for example), follow the steps outlined under Finding the Full Text.  (But feel free to ask for help!)