Skip to main content

THEO 3250 Chronicles 1-2 (Spina): Find Articles

Introduction

thoroughgoing search of the literature will involve (in addition to an attentiveness to works cited in the professional literature itself, which is to say, an attentiveness to the "links" (footnotes, bibliographies, and so forth)) all of the following:  a search

  • by passage,
  • by keyword as well as official subject heading, and
  • by Hebrew (or Greek) word (transliterated or otherwise).

Here at this tab I concentrate mainly on the search by passage.

The tab labelled Find Serial Bibliographies (Databases) gives you a reasonably comprehensive list of the periodical indices or "serial bibliographies" relevant to biblical studies.  Here I demonstrate the use of a more selective list, beginning with three important non-serial additions not listed there:

I then move on to the main serial bibliographies of biblical studies.  Serial bibliographies are bibliographies that, by continuously adding new material, stay always up-to-date, more or less:

Begin with non-serial and serial bibliographies listed above.  The following (all serial) need not be high on your list.  I enumerate them to be reasonably comprehensive, just in case you're falling short and need some additional places to check:

I then conclude with

  • another reminder that you should search not just by passage (as illustrated here), but by key (including Hebrew or Greek) word and subject (or unofficial topic) as well.  Searching by passage (or "pericope") alone (it is primarily that sort of searching that I illustrate below) will not turn up everything of relevance to the passage in question.

Major free-standing non-serial bibliographies like the The books of Chronicles: a classified bibliography (1990)

A more recent example of this category of free-standing Non-Serial Bibliography would be either 1) one of the two non-serial bibliographies on Chronicles by Watson E. Mills (2002), or 2) an extensive bibliography published in the form of a recent journal article.

But the example ready-to-hand is The books of Chronicles:  a classified bibliography, by Isaac Kalimi (1990), the second part of which organizes the scholarship published through (at best) the year 1990 by passage (here 1 Chronicles 3, 4:1-23, 4:23-43, and so forth):

 

The topic- or subject-specific bibliographies appended to articles in the Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias

Here, by way of example, is a shot of the bibliography appended to the article on "Israel" contributed by R. J. D. Knauth to the Dictionary of the Old Testament:  historical books (REF BS1205.55 .D53 2005) in 2005.  Note the discussion of "6. The Chronicler's Perspective(s)" on that topic.  The meaning of abbreviations like JSOT, BAR, BASOR, and so forth will be spelled out by an alphabetical list of Abbreviations (located at the beginning of most Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias).  For help getting your hands on the articles and books listed in a bibliography like this, go to Find the Full Text.

  

The Dictionary of the Old Testament:  historical books was published in 2005.  This is of necessity, therefore, a non-serial (or out-of-date) bibliography.  It cannot have included anything published on "Israel" after 2005 at best, and must therefore be supplemented (for the years 2005 (if not earlier!) and following) by a search of one or more of the serial bibliographies listed both above and below (the ATLA Religion database, Old Testament Abstracts, etc.).

The pericope-specific bibliographies in some commentaries

Some commentaries offer passage- (or "pericope"-) specific bibliographies.  Here, for example, is a shot of the pericope-specific bibliography given for 1 Chron. 16:8-36 in Peter B. Dirksen's HCOT commentary on 1 Chronicles.  The meaning of abbreviations like VT and JSOTSup will be spelled out by an alphabetical list of Abbreviations (located at the beginning of most Bible commentaries).  Note that because this commentary was published in 2005, this particular pericope-specific bibliography will be good through the year 2005 at best, i.e. will contain nothing published on 1 Chron. 16:8-36 after 2005, and will therefore need to be supplemented by searches of serial bibliographies like the ATLA Religion Database, Old Testament Abstracts, and so forth, as demonstrated below.

 

The ATLA Religion Database

Start in the ATLA Religion Database with the Scriptures button:


But the ATLA Religion Database should also be searched by key (including Hebrew or Greek) word and subject as well.  Ask yourself what the keywords and topics are that your passage gives rise to, and search the ATLA Religion Database accordingly.

For the purposes of this assignment, always limit your searches to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, or, at the very least, Academic Journals:

 

New Testament abstracts

New Testament abstracts as Old Testament abstracts, below.  Both are located on the Index Tables on the Library's Main Level.

Old Testament abstracts

Old Testament abstracts (available at the Index Tables on the Library's Main Level) is, like the ATLA Religion Database, a serial bibliography that SPU takes only in print.  The fact that it is a serial bibliography means that it stays constantly up-to-date.  But the fact that we take it in print means that its many volumes must each be consulted individually.  Here are some shots on Genesis 38 from vol. 32 (2009).  This first shot is from the Index of Scripture Texts, which appears every year at the back of issue no. 3:

 

For help getting your hands on articles and books like these listed in a print resource like Old Testament abstracts or a non-SPU database, go to Find the Full Text.

BiBL

BiBL, too, can be searched by passage:

But like the ATLA Religion Database (above), or any database, it should also be search by key (including Hebrew or Greek) word and topic or subject.

The Cataloque of the École Biblique

The Catalogue of the École Biblique is an important index to the literature of biblical studies, and can also be searched by passage, among other things.  But you should probably see me for help with this one.

Elenchus of Biblica

Possibly the most comprehensive of indices to the literature of biblical studies is Elenchus of Biblica, to which Seattle University subscribes.  Elenchus of Biblica is located in Periodicals, on the 5th Floor of Lemieux Library.

The importance of searching by key (including Greek) word and subject as well as by passage

It is very important that you search by key (including Hebrew or Greek) word and subject (or unofficial topic), too.  Searching by passage or pericope alone will not turn up everything relevant.