Skip to main content

> THEO 3210 Four Gospels and One Jesus: Find Full Text

H = Holmes, N = Nienhuis

Distinguish between "essays" in books and "articles" in journals

Distinguish between

  • the full text of an "essay" in (or consisting of) a book, and
  • the full-text of an "article" in a journal or "periodical".

"Essay" in a book:  Despite the presence of the icon labelled "Periodical", the following is the record of an "essay" in a book:

Essay in a Book

Moreover, here are two versions of the record for the book itself:

Multiple Versions

Article in a Book

To find full text in (or consisting of) a book, you must secure the book.  And to secure the book, you must look it up in the book catalog:

Check for Full Text

For more detail on how to track down the full-text of books (including whole monographs, commentaries, and so forth, but with Old Testament examples), go here.

"Article" in a journal or "periodical":  The full text of "articles" in journals or "periodicals", on the other hand, can be secured as outlined below:

Find the full text of an "article" cited in an SPU database

To find full text of an "article" cited in an SPU database, click through the options highlighted in red below (EBSCO example).  Keep in mind, though that the SPU databases do not alert you to the presence of full text at the University of Washington or Seattle University (red carat):

Check for Full Text

Find the full text of an "article" not cited in an SPU database, but rather elsewhere

To find the full text of an "article" not cited in an SPU database, but rather elsewhere (in the pericope-specific bibliography located in a commentary, for example), follow the steps outlined at Finding the Full Text.