Skip to main content

> THEO 3110 Torah/Pentateuch: 2.1 Place Text in Context

TAB 3.4, IDENTIFY MONOGRAPHS & ARTICLES, IS NOW, I THINK, THE ONLY ONE THAT STILL RETAINS NT EXAMPLES. I AM HOPING THAT, SHOULD I FAIL TO GET TO IT IN TIME, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO MAKE THE REQUISITE ADJUSTMENTS TO THE OT YOURSELF. IF NOT, SEE ME!

The Old Testament use of the Old Testament (Torah/Pentateuch)

Unlike for the New Testament use of the Old (below), no handy tools for this task come readily to mind.  I can suggest only

  • Your own familiarity with the Old Testament;
  • A concordance, Hebrew or English;
  • An edition or translation of the text of your passage that includes cross-references of one kind or another, e.g. a study Bible, just e.g. the Jewish study Bible (REF & General Collection BS895 .J4 2004);
  • A harmony or synopsis, e.g. The twice-told tale: parallels in the Bible, by Abba Bendavid (REF BS1104 .A2B413 2017), which offers, on pp. 218-280, a (somewhat disappointingly) limited "Selection of parallels of events and verses from the Pentateuch, Prophets, Hagiographa."
  • An extensive, scholarly commentary on your passage that references parallels and/or related passages elsewhere in the Old Testament;
  • Relevant topical articles in the Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias, not least the Encyclopedia of the Bible and its reception (which focuses on the re-use of biblical figures, topics, and passages throughout history across the arts and humanities (though not often as carefully throughout the Old Testament itself));
  • The Parallel-Verzeichnis from p. 285 of vol. 2 of Dittmar, below (not easy to use, and not exhaustive either); and
  • The scholarship (books, monographs, and articles on your passage that reference parallels and/or related passages elsewhere in the Old Testament).

The New Testament use of the Old Testament (Torah/Pentateuch)

The tools listed below are listed also under "Works of reference on quotation, allusion, intertextuality, and so forth" on p. _ of the handout Basic English-Bible Reference.  All of the exemplary screenshots are taken at the Gospel of John, chap. 1.

  • The less specialized tools rightly prioritized by Dr. Nienhuis:

 

    • Study Bibles.  Key study Bibles are to be found at (REF) BS191.5 (or thereabouts).

 

    • Old Testament quotations in the New Testament, REF BS287 .B54 1987.

    • Commentary on the New Testament use of the Old Testament, REF BS511.3 .C653 2007.

  • The more specialized tools added by Mr. Perisho (entirely optional, though those who don't read the languages can usually still make out (and therefore make use of) the cross-references):

 

    • NA28 (2012) and its Appendix III (“Loci citati vel allegati"), pp. 836 ff., REF BS1965 2012.  “lists quotations from and allusions to the Old Testament, the Apocrypha, and non-Christian Greek writers”  by OT, Apocryphal, and non-Christian Greek book. . . . Direct quotations are represented by italics, and allusions by normal type” (87*).

 

    • Hübner, Vetus Testamentum in Novo,
      • Bd. 1/2, Evangelium secundum Iohannem, REF BS2387 .V48 1997 v.1 pt.2.  The edition of Vetus Testamentum in Novo edited by Hübner is in the process of superceding Dittmar (below), but remains at present incomplete.

    • Dittmar, Vetus Testamentum in Novo:  die Alttestamenlichen Parallelen des Neuen Testaments im Wortlaut der Urtexte und der Septuaginta (1899-1903),

 

"Extra-biblical historical references"

Though Dr. Koenig doesn't stress this aspect of the assignment, I insert a placeholder for it here.  For the time being, though, I do no more than simply flag once again, in addition to the scholarship (commentaries, monographs, and articles),

  • the Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias, including dictionaries and encyclopedias of
    • Old and even New Testament background,
    • Second-Temple Judaism, and
    • Ancient Near Eastern history and culture (Greco-Roman, too),
  • Bible background commentaries like those listed on p. _ of the handout Basic English-Bible Reference,
  • histories of the Old (and New) Testament,

and so forth.

I hope to add additional such tools as they come to mind, for example (as above),

  • NA28 (2012) and its Appendix III (“Loci citati vel allegati"), pp. 836 ff., REF BS1965 2012.  “lists quotations from and allusions to the Old Testament, the Apocrypha, and non-Christian Greek writers”  by OT, Apocryphal, and non-Christian Greek book. . . . Direct quotations are represented by italics, and allusions by normal type” (87*).

"Contexts" of Scripture

(Collections of) ancient texts relevant to the study of the Old Testament are too numerous to list.  Here I give just a few.  Of these, the first is an extremely useful handbook: