Skip to main content

> THEO 3110 Torah/Pentateuch: 1.4b & 2.1 Consult Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

TAB 3.4, IDENTIFY MONOGRAPHS & ARTICLES, IS NOW, I THINK, THE ONLY ONE THAT STILL RETAINS NT EXAMPLES. I AM HOPING THAT, SHOULD I FAIL TO GET TO IT IN TIME, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO MAKE THE REQUISITE ADJUSTMENTS TO THE OT YOURSELF. IF NOT, SEE ME!

Dictionaries and encyclopedias of the Bible online

Dictionaries and encyclopedias of the Bible offline

The (limited) value of a reputable tertiary source (Bible dictionary or encyclopedia)

A good Bible dictionary or encyclopedia can help at a number of points along the way.  It can

Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias come in various forms.  On pp. 5 ff. of the handout Basic English-Bible Reference I list a number of the pigeonholes I find helpful, i.e. Dictionaries and encyclopedias 

  • multi-purpose in nature,
  • of biblical theology and ethics,
  • of biblical units,
  • of Old Testament background,
  • of New Testament background,
  • on specific topics,
  • of biblical interpretation and/or reception,
  • of the Ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman world, and
  • of language and linguistics.

Under each category I give a number of examples, with call numbers.  Please consult pp. 5 ff. of the handout Basic English-Bible Reference for this list.  Below I give but a single example.

Major features of such, as illustrated by the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch:

Dictionaries and encyclopedias of related areas offline