Skip to main content

COM 3001: Theories of Communication: Communication Journals Through SPU

Finding Articles in the Databases for your Assignments

You should search in Academic Search Complete and Communication Source for articles.

Most of what you need will be available in online full text through these databases. You can search these two databases at the same time:

From the SPU Library's home page, click on Article & Research Databases. Then click on Academic Search Premier. Above the search boxes, click on Choose Databases. Add Communication Source to your search

Image of Academic Search Complete search boxes pointing out the Choose Databases link

 

In your results list, for articles that are not full text in the databases, click on "Linked Full Text" or "Check for Full Text" to be led to the online full text. Contact me if you need help getting to the online full text.

If you still cannot get to the online full text, scroll down on this page to see whether the SPU Library has the journal in print or on microfilm. This is usually for an older article. Please contact me if you need help figuring this out.

For print journals, the journals are arranged alphabetically by the title of the journal on the Lower Level of the SPU Library.

For microfilm, fill out this request form and we will send you a PDF of the article.

Hard Copy Communication Journals at SPU

Sometimes you need an article from a journal issue that is not online.

Here are the communication journals we have in hard copy at the library.

  • Communication Monographs:

 

  • Human Communication Research:

1985-2004 on microfilm*

2006- present in print     

 

  • Communication Yearbook:

1992 – present in print  on Third Floor at call# P87 .C5974  

 

  • Journal of Communication:

1981-1983 on microfilm*

1984- present in paper

 

  • Communication Studies:

Library does not own in hard copy.

 

*Use this form to request a PDF of the article from microfilm.

 

Please contact me or another librarian if you need help obtaining your article.