Guide to help students find resources for the Scientific Literature Report.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2015
- Clarify the differences between popular literature and primary scientific literature
- Learn more about the tools that are used to search the literature, particularly primary scientific sources.
- Locate an article in a newspaper, newsmagazine, popular science magazine, blog, or another form of popular literature that relates in some way to animal biology and presents some scientific informaiton, perferably idenfiying a specific scientific journal article. (Be sure that you have selected a blog post or article, NOT a press release.)
- Locate the article in the primary scientific literature upon which the popular article is based.
Here are a few starting places for finding your popular science article.
Remember: Science Daily, publisher/univeristy press releases, and reviews published in science journals are NOT acceptable popular science articles.
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges from 1984 to the present, with some back files (to 1975) and searchable cited references available.
- Research Library Complete
covers a broad range of topics, with coverage extending from 1971 to the present.
- Biological Abstracts
covers life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. Its coverage extends from 1992 to the present.
- MEDLINE via EBSCOhost
MEDLINE covers all areas of healthcare, including medicine, dentistry, nursing, psychiatry, and nutrition. MEDLINE via EBSCOHOST offers some full text and the ability to search PsycINFO simultaneously.
- Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.